Accomodations Amenities Common Questions Local Map Contact Us

713/715 West Third Street

     This split house was built around 1886. 713 West Third Street had numerous owners over the years. Herman Stadon, a teller at West Branch National Bank, lived there in 1888. James Sweeley, the editor and manager of the Williamsport Sun newspaper, lived there during the early 1890's. John Brown lived there from 1896 to 1898. He served as treasurer for the S&B Railroad Company. In 1901, the owners of Rubenstein Brothers Jewelry store purchased the house and lived there for a decade. In 1911, James Sweeley's son Lucious purchased the house where he grew up as a child and lived there until 1916. In 1917, the Nichol family, executives and employees of Pennsylvania Railroad, purchased the house. From 1923 through 1929, two widows lived together there. The house's longest owner, Chester Bardole, was a chiropodist (foot doctor) who treated patients in the house until the 1940's. Whereas 713 had countless unique residents, 715 West Third Street belonged to a single family for more than half a century. The owners of Robert Housel & Sons Lumber Company moved in right after construction was completed. Robert H. Housel taught his sons Robert A., William, and Walter the skills of the lumber business. Robert A. eventually inherited the house. He became the president of Culler Furniture Company in 1907, and he worked his way up as treasurer, vice-president, and eventually president of the Savings Institute. After his death in the mid-1930's, Robert's wife, Emily, continued to live in the large house.

Accomodations | Amenities | Common Questions | Local Map | Contact Us